Carnegie Medal

Shadowing the Carnegie Medal

The Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children.

  • It was established in 1936, in memory of the great Scottish-born philanthropist, Andrew Carnegie (1835-1919). Carnegie was a self-made industrialist who made his fortune in steel in the USA. His experience of using a library as a child led him to resolve that "if ever wealth came to me that it should be used to establish free libraries."
  • Carnegie set up more than 2800 libraries across the English speaking world and, by the time of his death, over half the library authorities in Great Britain had Carnegie libraries.
  • First awarded to Arthur Ransome for ‘Pigeon Post’, the winner receives a golden medal and £500 worth of books to donate to a library of their choice.
  • The medal is awarded by CILIP: the Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals.
  • The Upper 4 Library Monitors are busy reading their way through the current shortlist and will be voting for the one they think deserves the medal.

2018 Shortlist

  • ‘Beyond the Bright Sea’ Lauren Wolk
  • ‘Rook’ Anthony Mc Gowan
  • ‘Release’ Patrick Ness
  • ‘Wed Wabbit’ Lissa Evans
  • ‘After the Fire’ Will Hill
  • ‘Saint Death’ Marcus Sedgwick
  • ‘Where the World Ends’ Geraldine Mc Caughrean
  • ‘The Hate U Give’ Angie Thomas

2018 Winner – Where the World Ends/ Geraldine McCaughrean